Planning Commission

Regular Meetings
  • 5 p.m.
  • 1st Thursday of each month
  • City Hall
    405 N Main Street
    Board Room
    Springfield, TN 37172



  • Allen Powell,                               Planning District                         Term Expires: November 30, 2020
  • Virginia Boyd, Ward 1
    Term expires: November 30, 2022
  • Tony Townsend, Ward 2
    Term expires: November 30, 2022
  • Buzzy Poole, Ward 3
    Term expires: November 30, 2022
  • Racarol Woodard, Ward 4   Term expires: November 30, 2020

  • David Allen, Chairman       Ward 5
    Term expires: November 30, 2020
  • Mike Hollingsworth, Ward 6
    Term expires: November 30, 2020
  • Wanda Mason, Mayor
     Term expires: November 30, 2020
  • Alderman Jeff Gragg, BMA Term expires: June 30, 2021


The Planning Commission is responsible for reviewing and approving all residential development plats and commercial site plans, as well as recommending zoning districts and property annexations. The Planning Commission has delegated to City staff the authority to review and approve commercial site plans of 50,000 square feet or less, with the understanding that it reserves the right to review any and all site plans.

The City of Springfield Planning Commission consists of 9 members, 6 of whom are nominated by their respective aldermen to represent their wards for staggered 4-year terms. Of these, 2 of the members serve 2-year terms, 1 of whom is appointed by the Mayor to represent the Planning Region and the other is a member of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen appointed by that body. The other member of the Planning Commission is the Mayor or a person at-large appointed by the Mayor to serve a 4-year term.

Agenda items to be considered by the Planning Commission must be submitted 30 days prior to the meeting.

Visit the Public Meeting Notices page for a list of meeting dates.